Steeves House Museum

40 Mill Street, Hillsborough, NB
Max Capacity: 150 people
Set in the historic birthplace of the Honourable William Henry Steeves, the Steeves House Museum is a charming Colonial mansion filled with light from massive windows. The original cottage was finished in 1812, and William Henry Steeves was born here in 1814 as the oldest of eleven children. He became a Father of Confederation and, later, Senator Steeves. The larger house was added circa 1840 when the economy of the Village expanded. The house is now comprised of 6000 sq. ft of period rooms and antique furnishings. For your added pleasure we offer costumed, guided tours of the mansion’s thirteen rooms, as well as the nearby Saint Mary's Anglican Church. The museum is open for an extended season from May 15-Oct. 15 (Mon-Sat 9-5, Sun 12-5). All other hours by appointment only. Genealogy questions on Albert County surnames are always welcome. Spacious lawns, shade trees, picnic tables, and access to a kitchen for light food preparation are all yours at the Steeves House Museum.
Recommendations
Location
Venue Style
Amenities
  • Handicapped Accessible
  • Outdoor Function Area
  • Outside Catering Allowed
  • Wireless Internet/Wi-Fi
Features
  • Max Number of People for an Event: 150
  • Number of Event/Function Spaces: 3
  • Total Meeting Room Space (Square Meters): 60
  • Year Renovated: 2014