Make your wedding different with a little Magic! - Weddings on a Budget - Eventective - Forums

Make your wedding different with a little Magic! Messages in this topic - RSS

MagiKel
MagiKel
Hi There, My name is Kel and I am a professional magician for 14 years.

I'd like to post about why a magician is great for weddings. First and foremost, Entertaining every single table on your big day is a tough task as you at most can spend 5-10 minutes at every table saying hi to everyone. Family is the most important, so many couples will spend time at the first 5 tables to make sure their elders are happy.

But what about your table of co-workers and friends? There is a movie out on netflix called Table 19. It is a great example of what happens at a lot of weddings. Beautiful decor, amazing music in the background, the bride looks gorgeous (if you can see her from where your sitting) and the food is good, but it's a long night and they barely know each other at the table. There are plenty of awkward moments that are funny in the movie, but reality is that it happens in so many weddings.

Magic is universal. It translates across all languages and at a moments notice, your guests can be blown away with coins vanishing from one hand to another, minds being read, and cards appearing and vanishing. Its something they've never seen before and can loosen them up and unify everyone at the table with something to talk about. Its the perfect ice breaker.

There are a few magicians along myself on eventective so here are a few tips on choosing the right one:

1. Awards and credentials - It's not the most important point, but winning something or being seen on TV shows some form of success and indicates that they are good at "something" and sets the expectation that your money is being well spent.