The Invisible Dog is a three-story art center housed in a former factory building in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn. Built in 1863, the 30,000 square foot building went through a number of industrial incarnations, most notably as the creation site of the "invisible dog" party trick. The space remained unused until 2009, when The Invisible Dog Art Center took it over. The Invisible Dog is dedicated to the integration of forward thinking with respect for the past. The building has been restored for safety and cleaned, but otherwise preserved intact. The rawness of the unfinished space is integral to The Invisible Dog's identity. The ground floor is an exhibition space used for performances and public events, hosting artists and curators from around the world. The second floor and the third floor are divided into artists studios. The mission of The Invisible Dog is to provide a home for artists, one that honors process and collaboration. The majority of the art we present is site-specific and builds on the unique energy of our space.