questions for event planners Messages in this topic - RSS

questions for event planners Messages in this topic - RSS

Karao630583Karao630583Posts: 3 February 21, 2011
I've got an event band - actually a couple of them. I'm a veteran of the event scene, but have never dealt with the business side of things before now.

My general question is how can I hook up with an event coordinator to our mutual advantage?

We do a variety of things well. We have a live karaoke band, can do a whole night with an R+B thing, Jazz, dance, 80s thing, or a variety. We can provide our own sound / lights/MC and have a relationship with some photographers who would be happy to offer package deals to event coordinators who give us volume business.

Is this an attractive offer to event coordinators? How should I market to band to the event coordinators? How can I find event coordinators to work with? (other than web searches) How should I contact them? Is there a question I should be asking that I'm not?

http://www.KaraokeKingsPDX.com
paigefuss6paigefuss6Posts: 3 February 21, 2011
What area are you in?
NW - based in Portland, OR
jimphoenixjimphoenixPosts: 16 February 21, 2011
I would take the time and find someone that is not going to take advantage of you! I have seen other companies pay the artist $1500.00 and collect $5000.00 or more. Be sure to see their track record with other artists. As you know if they don't like one there will be 25 more that will come.
Oh, I know. I'm happy to give a generous percentage, but also know that many are cutthroats. I've seen worse examples than that! How should I go about connecting with someone, though?
jimphoenixjimphoenixPosts: 16 February 28, 2011
To connect you will want to find a list of destination management companies there are several if you look them up on the computer. You will want to look at some of the destination management affiliate clubs etc. ADME,and DMC Network are some you might try. Good luck!
Guest March 1, 2011