Is a pot luck a good idea???? Messages in this topic - RSS

Is a pot luck a good idea???? Messages in this topic - RSS

amynjasonamynjasonPosts: 5 October 16, 2010
My mom said this was a great way to save money, but I dont think its right to ask our guest to bring food. Anybody agree with my mom? This is my first time for this and Im trying to plan our wedding with a little help from my about to be sister in law and she also thinks this might be a bad idea.
Guest October 16, 2010
Frankly, I think it is a terrible idea...when you invite guests to your wedding you are hosting it. It is acceptable to have a cash bar, but it is rather tacky asking people to pay for or bring food. I hope that helps!
amynjasonamynjasonPosts: 5 October 16, 2010
My grandma also put her input in of "this is what they use to do back in the day" True???? The 130 people are mainly his family(huge on his side) small on mine, and just a few family friends.
Guest October 16, 2010
No, it's a terrible idea. You are hosting a party; find a simple, affordable venue or caterer; offer wine and beer, and have a great time. But don't ask them to bring food.
BrevardMinisterBrevardMinisterPosts: 157 October 16, 2010
amynjason wrote:
My mom said this was a great way to save money, but I dont think its right to ask our guest to bring food. Anybody agree with my mom? This is my first time for this and Im trying to plan our wedding with a little help from my about to be sister in law and she also thinks this might be a bad idea.

It's definitely a great way to save money, but this is a case of "know your audience." I have been to pot luck weddings that were quite tasteful and fabulously fun. But, they were much smaller and the guest list was essentially family, including extended family.